Life in General

Growing Up

I thought it might be a good idea for you to get to know me a bit better. I grew up in Huntington Beach, CA. I had a fantastic childhood- tho I’m not sure I thought it was so great at the time. I have one brother who is about 5  years older than me. As a child, we loved each other, but we didn’t really hang out too much. I think it was the age difference. My mom and dad were married until I was 12 or so, and then they split up. It was tough, but I was happy they split. They fought all the time and I was young enough to think having two homes was fun.

Growing up, I played a lot of sports. I loved playing soccer, softball and tennis and even went to Hawaii a few times to play spring select soccer with my friends. Again, I had no idea how lucky I was to be able to do that. Some of my best memories are of those trips. The soccer tournament was a week, and my parents often stretched the vacation out to 3 weeks! We would island hop; it was amazing!

As I mentioned, I also played tennis. I was on the varsity tennis team and really enjoyed it. I was lucky enough to get a partial scholarship to Boise State University, but I was dumb enough not to go. I was 17, had a boyfriend and could imagine leaving him. Because of course we were going to be together forever. (spoiler: we didn’t)

I ended up going to Cal State Fullerton for a year and flunked out. It was literally across the street from the Brea mall and that is where I chose to spend my time (and quickly get into credit card debt). After that, I moved back home and played around in Community College. I just didn’t know what I want to be when I grew up. That’s been a struggle my entire life.

Subscribe and don't miss a thing!
832

You Might Also Like

Next Story

Leave a Reply